Osseo Senior High Students Named Gates Millennium Scholars

Olufunmilayo Arogbokun and Elizabeth Johnson received the honor.

Olufunmilayo Arogbokun and Elizabeth Johnson have been named Gates Millennium Scholars, marking the second consecutive year that seniors have earned this prestigious award, according to a press release from the District 279.

The Gates Millennium Scholars Program awards good-through-graduation college scholarships to 1,000 students selected from a nationwide pool of 23,000 applicants. The scholarships can be used to pursue degrees in any undergraduate major at the accredited college or university of the recipients’ choice. Originally funded by a $1 billion grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the scholarship program promotes academic excellence and leadership development.

Arogbokun will attend Butler University (Indiana), where she plans to pursue a doctorate in pharmacy. Subsequently, she plans to pursue a degree in public health from Northwestern University (Illinois).

Johnson will attend the University of Minnesota-Morris next fall to major in library science.

In the past two years, Osseo Senior High has produced three Gates Millennium Scholars.

Information provided by the Osseo School District 279.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »