DeJournett Wins Primary Election Recount for County Park Commissioner

Jennifer DeJournett and incumbent Marilynn Corcoran faced one another in a recount Wednesday after a close primary election. DeJournett continues to the 2012 general election.

After a , two Hennepin County Park Commissioner District 2 candidates faced one another in a recount Wednesday, Aug. 22.

Incumbent Marilynn Corcoran of Dayton following a 21 vote loss to Jennifer DeJournett of Maple Grove in the primary election.

After the recount, DeJournett retained her lead and added one additional ballot to win over Corcoran. The final recount vote, according to Hennepin County, was DeJournett with 1,573 votes and Corcoran with 1,551 votes.

“The recount discovered one ballot that the voter had marked two candidates and crossed off one. That is the reason for the increase in one vote for DeJournett,” Hennepin County Registrar of Titles and Elections Rachel Smith wrote in an email to Patch.

The two candidates were vying for the second spot on the 2012 general election ballot. Rick Theisen of Maple Grove secured the first spot during the primary election with 2,344 votes.

“I would like to thank the Hennepin County Election team for their professionalism and accuracy in recounting the votes. The Canvassing Board will meet to wrap up its work and certify my campaign for the general election,” DeJournett wrote in an email to Patch. “I am humbled by the support I received across the entire district. My family enjoys visiting The Three Rivers Park system. It is important to the DeJournett family and the entire community that our park system is fiscally sound. Being fiscally responsible with the taxpayers’ hard-earned dollar is paramount, especially in tough economic times. I look forward to discussing those ideas going forward into the general election. Finally, I’d like to thank Three Rivers Park Commissioner Marilynn Corcoran for her service to her community.”

It was the first time Maple Grove was part of District 2 County Park Commissioner for an election. Before the  earlier this year, Maple Grove was part of District 1. Effective Jan. 1, 2013, Three Rivers Park District 2 will represent Maple Grove, most of Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Dayton and Osseo. As a result, incumbent Marilynn Corcoran faced Jennifer DeJournett and Rick Theisen in the 2012 primary Aug. 14.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »